Shameless (U.S. Version)


I don’t even know where to start with this show. Well, I guess I can start with the name. It’s perfection. Literally the best word to use to describe this show is in fact, “shameless”.

When I was first told about this show, I immediately began comparing it to Honey Boo Boo. That was my first mistake. Maybe my friends suck at explaining shows, or I just was totally out of it, but this show isn’t even a reality show. It’s based off the British sitcom by the same name. The characters are vulgar, witty, and not afraid to do whatever the hell they want.

Bad situations seem to follow the Gallagher family around as Fiona tries to take care of her family of one sister (Debbie) and four brothers (Lip, Ian, Carl, and Liam), while their dad is getting drunk and scrounging off innocent people for money, and their mother is a bipolar run-away mess.

Look at that happy family!

The first episode will get you hooked easily as you follow this family through a series of unfortunate events -mostly caused by their father, Frank Gallagher. It is easy to get sucked into the plot, completely clueless at times on how they are going to get out of the extremely shitty situation they just encountered.

Sorry Fiona but… NOPE.

Now, this show isn’t for everyone -and by this I mean please don’t watch this unless you are at least close to being a legal adult. It has a lot of mature scenes and I’d rather not receive complaints from parents saying that I advised you to watch this (although who am I to tell you what to do).

Overall, I give this show a rating of one raised Sherlock eyebrow out of two -you can decide what that means.

 

2 thoughts on “Shameless (U.S. Version)

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      It’s easy to watch this show and enjoy it for its comedy, but at the same time it does portray a very harsh reality and I think that we need to be aware of this fact.

Leave a reply