Day 38: Abandoned


I had just hopped off the bus, exhausted from a long day of work, when I heard a distant cry. I stopped for a second and looked around. When the sound resonated again, I realized it was the mewing of a small kitten. Underneath the bench at the bus stop was a small cardboard box. I pulled the box out and saw three little kittens huddled on a ragged blanket. What kind of human abandons a box of kittens?! I grabbed the box and hurried back to my apartment.

My apartment doesn’t allow pets, so it was a bit of a hassle trying to hide the box from prying neighbours, but I managed to get into my apartment safely. The first thing I did was get a can of tuna from the cupboard and split it out onto three separate plates. I then grabbed a fresh blanket from the closet and placed it on the ground. I scooped up each kitten and placed them gently down onto the blanket, each one with a plate in front of them. The kittens quickly took to eating the tuna, one of them purring as it tackled the fishy meal.

I watched them devour the food. What the hell am I going to do with three kittens? I was so tempted to keep them all. I might be able to hide one of them in an apartment, but I doubt I’d get away with three very easily. This space was cozy, but very small. Tomorrow I’ll go to the vet and see what they suggest.

Once the kittens had finished eating the tuna, they began to explore the blanketed space. One little grey kitten approached my foot and decided that it wanted to play with my toes. It tossed its head in the air and pounced on my big toe. I laughed as it’s fur tickled me. I scooped it up in my hands and cuddled it close to my chest. The little goofball squirmed in my arms and licked my fingers. I stroked its tiny head and it settled down and began to purr. The other two kittens continued to explore the space, one of them braving the hardwood floor. The second mewed after its sibling and then gained the courage to torpedo after them, bumping into their rump and causing a pile of small kitten limbs.

Leave a reply